Thursday, April 17, 2014

Awesome Earth Day Programs for Teens @ Your Library!

Earth Day is coming up next Tuesday, and your young adult librarians have planned some great workshops at RPL branches!  Activities include moss painting and recyclable crafts - come out and help turn RPL green (literally...we are going to paint walls with moss).



1.  Moss Painting!


Moss is pretty cool.  It is one of the oldest types of living organisms and can freeze or dry out for long periods of time before being brought back to life with water, sunlight and cool temperatures.  In a recent New York Times article on moss gardening, it was reported that British scientists recently resuscitated a moss that had been frozen in Arctic ice for 1,500 years!

Moss painting, or moss graffiti, is an increasingly popular way to decorate walls.  It is non-toxic, as opposed to chemical-laden paints, and with regular maintenance can grow into a durable outdoor artwork.  Artist Anna Garforth has popularized moss painting by growing moss art in the form of eye-catching patterns and phrases.

http://www.annagarforth.co.uk/work/kingscrosspicnic.html
To make moss paintings, you need:
moss
water
sugar
buttermilk or yogurt
blender
container
paintbrush
pattern/stencil

We are so excited to give this a try!  Call your local branch to find out when this program is taking place nearest you.

2.  Recyclable Craft: Soda Bottle Planters! @ Main


At 3 pm on April 22nd @ Main we will do moss painting AND make planters out of old soda bottles.  Soda bottles are a great and cheap way to grow plants indoors or out.  

Bring soda bottles, 1 or 2 liter size, to cut and decorate.  We will have some on hand as well if you can't get your hands on one.  You'll get to learn how to pot a plant, and bring one home!

See you this week @ the participating branches! Check your local branch for Earth Day details.

And if you're curious about reading more about the environment, plants, or gardening, check out some of these titles from your library:

The Vegetable Gardener's Container Bible: How to grow a bounty of food in tubs, pots, and other containers, by Edward C. Clarke, call number: 635 S646

A great resource for anyone interested in gardening in small spaces.  Container gardening is a good way for beginners to learn about gardening!


Counting by 7s, by Holly Goldberg Sloan, Call no: YA Fiction Sloan



Counting by 7s tells the story of Willow Chance, a brilliant but quirky twelve year old girl fascinated by nature and diagnosing illnesses, whose life is changed forever after a tragic accident.


Seedfolks, by Paul Fleischman, call number: YA Fiction/Juvenile Fiction Fleisch


Seedfolks is a series of vignettes told from the point of view of neighbors in an apartment building, who all become involved one way or another in a small garden started in the empty lot next door.


47 Things You Can Do for the Environment, by Lexi Petronis, call number: 363.7 P497


Sometimes translating your passion for environmentalism into action is hard.  Where do you start?  Here's a book with 47 things you can start doing today to decrease your impact on our environment, like not drinking bottled water, or buying vintage clothes (which sounds like a pretty cool way to be an environmentalist).

Ask a librarian for more recommendations!  Happy Earth Day everyone!


Wednesday, April 02, 2014

Greetings and good readings from the Ginter Park branch!

National Library Week (April 13th-19th)  is nearly upon us so now seems like a good time to share my "favorite books I've read in 2014 so far" list (before it gets too long).  

Dissident Gardens (2013) is a multi-generational tale of American communists, Greenwich Village counter-culture, and mothers and daughters. Recommended for readers of that sort of thing. See also: William Faulkner, Jonathan Franzen, Michael Chabon, and the movie Inside Llewyn Davis.

On such a full sea (2014) was my "most eagerly anticipated read of 2014" back in January and I am pleased to announce that I didn't self-hype it to death.  Recommended for fans of all things post-apocalyptic, Cormac McCarthy (Think The road), Margaret Atwood (my favorite author--duh.), and Ursula K. LeGuin.

Lowland (2013) I would have called it A heartbreaking work of staggering genius if that name weren't already taken. Just remember: It's healthy to cry.  Just let it all out.  Read it if you loved The magic seedsCutting for stone, or just love beauty.  It's worth it.

Dark Places (2009).  Confession: I liked this so much better than Gone Girl.  Am I allowed to say that? It was almost like an alternate version of In cold blood told from the perspective of a survivor if In cold blood had been fiction and anyone had survived (SPOILER ALERT). Readers of Tami Hoag and Joyce Carol Oates will enjoy it too.

Orfeo (2014).  I read this whole book with my mouth hanging open.  (At least one of this year's snow days happened because I wished for it the day I checked this book out: I knew I had to read it all in one sitting. Librarians have super powers. #truestory )  This is a beautifully written novel that weaves Mahler, modern art, technology, and paranoia into a captivating tale of a composer and amateur microbiologist, and his magnum opus. For fans of Godel, Escher, Bach, (non-fiction), Mefisto, and stories inspired by the myth of Orpheus.

The Circle (2013) is the fun and just a little too real story of Meg, a naive young woman working for a powerful Google-meets-Facebook-like mega-corporation.  Recommended for fans of Jennifer Egan and Gary Shteyngart, as well as folks who have a healthy fear of our Google overlords.

The Luminaries (2013) is a gorgeous novel told from multiple viewpoints and set during the New Zealand gold rush in the 1860s. Recommended for lovers of really good books and fans of If on a winter's night a traveler, Cloud atlas, and Life after life (Kate Atkinson's). 

Black Moon (2014) creeped me out!  Imagine a world in which people can't fall asleep anymore except for a fortunate--or unfortunate--few "sleepers".  Imagine insomniacs being scarier than zombies.  Recommended for lovers of  Zone one, The dog stars, The age of miracles, World War Z, and sleeping in.

Kafka on the Shore (2006). Love. This. Book.  Existential and surreal, fans of Saramago and A tale for the time being by Ruth Ozeki will enjoy this.

Why are you so sad? (2014) is a "Laugh your face off or else you'll cry because it's just so true" kind of story about your average clinically depressed guy working as an artist who designs the pictorial instruction manuals for an IKEA-like company, and amateur mental-health surveys in his spare time.  Read if you liked Even cowgirls get the blues or Breakfast of champions, or you just think that something can be so sad it's funny. 
The shining girls (2013) "The girl who wouldn't die hunts the killer who shouldn't exist".  This is your classic serial killer meets girl story with a sci-fi time-traveling twist.  Yeah, it is a lot of fun--and pretty darn gory.  Read if you enjoyed Nowhere by Christopher Shane, and even Dark Places by Gillian Flynn.  

Celebrate National Library Week 2014 (April 13-19, 2014) @ your library!


All week long (April 14-19) you can drop in to Ginter Park to make a bookmark!  All ages welcome!

Do not miss the inaugural Teen Book Club for Girls event!  Author Meg Medina, recently named one of CNN's "Ten Visionary Women", will be joining us to discuss her book Yaqui Delgado wants to kick your ass.  
April 16th @ 3 pm in the Main Library Teen Space.

Check out a whole bunch of great movies playing @ North Avenue all week at 2 pm!

And more!

Thursday, March 20, 2014

Girls Rock! RVA Presents: First Friday Vinyl DJ Workshop!

Richmond Public Library is excited to announce April programming from Girls Rock! RVA @ Main!

On First Friday, April 4th at 6pm, Girls Rock! camp counselors and members of all-grrrl local rock 'n' roll group Christi will teach you how to play vinyl records like a pro Disc Jock!

Learn how to play records, how to handle and take care of vinyl, and all about turntable technology.  Take turns playing records to DJ an awesome dance party with records from the 50s, 60s and beyond!  This event is for ages 8 + up.


This could be the first nice-weather First Friday Richmond has seen in a while, and Girls Rock! RVA has two events happening!  After you attend the DJ Workshop at Main, consider strolling through the arts walk and dropping in on the benefit concert for Girls Rock! RVA at River City Recording, 320 Brook Rd.

The benefit will feature the much-loved local post-punk group Canary Oh Canary's last performance before an extended hiatus.  Bass player Josie Davis of Canary Oh Canary is a Girls Rock! RVA volunteer and a first-rate musician!

These events are not to be missed!  Hope to see you there!

Tuesday, March 11, 2014

How do you DIY?


Teen Tech Week is all about DIY @ YOUR Library this year!  RPL has LOTS of great books to get you on your way to finally make some of those crafts you've been pinning on Pinterest but never quite seem to get around to (you know who you are)!




Nails, nails, nails! : 25 creative DIY nail art projects


DIY Projects for the self-sufficient homeowner : 
25 ways to build a self-reliant lifestyle


Planet Yumthing do-it-yourself : 
create, design, reinvent, and make it yours!

Improv sewing : 101 fast, fun, and fearless projects























This week @ YOUR library:

Get SEW fabulous at Ginter Park's fab-lab this week!  Sew tired threads into fresh looks and stop by on Thursday for a special DIY bow tie lab.  Everyday this week, March 10-14th @ 4 pm.

North Avenue is celebrating Teen Tech Week with DIY-YA labs @ 3pm this week, the 10th-13th.

Upcycle those old floppy disks and CDs @ the Main Library on Wed @ 4pm!

And MORE!


Wednesday, March 05, 2014

DIY-YA: Teen Tech Week @ RPL


Richmond Public Library is celebrating Teen Tech Week again, and we are really excited because we have more branches involved. The theme for Teen Tech Week for this year is "DIY @ your library". Richmond Public Library always encourages their teen patrons to be expressive and creative by using upcycled materials to make re-purposed items. We have creative librarians and library staff who are welling to share their creative skills for awesome Teen Tech Week programs.  Here are our activities down below.



A lot of our programs have been geared towards career development for teens. It all started with our Teen Recyclable Craft Sale, which is held at Main in December and it has been very successful. This year we are working with the YA staff and teens at other branches to make the craft sale system wide.


We are setting a new trend for our teen programs and it is called "DIY-YA". If you are the type of teen who likes to be creative and explore new trends, check us out at RPL!