Friday, October 07, 2016

The last man on earth heard a knock at the door.

(Don't you just love the shortest scary story/scariest short story in the title?)

This time of year, when the night is getting longer and the days shorter, pumpkins are proliferating and leaves are turning, I pull out all my sweaters and scary stories, and start planning my Halloween costume. Don't you? Anyway...hello, horror fans!

Chills! Thrills! Bills? All the scariest things you could possibly need are on the new books shelf right now:

by Chuck Wendig

"Earth is home to more than twelve thousand species of ants." If that fact isn't enough to give you the creeps, get on Invasive, equal parts high-tech espionage thriller and creepy crawly horror story. Seems made for fans of Before the Fall, The Ruins, and the Area X trilogy.
Wolf Road
by Beth Lewis

Shaping up to be one of my favorites books of the year, this post-apocalyptic, western-style stalker thriller has something for fans of The Road, The Revenant, and True Grit.
The Binding
by Nicholas Wolff

Fans of Peter Straub and The Fog will enjoy this horror story about a small town seemingly ravaged by a rare mental disorder, and something in the town's dark past may be the answer.
Disappearance at Devil's Rock
by Paul Tremblay

From the author of A Head Full of Ghosts comes another terrifying tale, this time a mystery involving a missing teenager and the strange series of events that follow, haunting the search for the truth.

Speaking of scary things, have you guys been following this clown-sighting business on the news lately? 

No comments: